In 1929 construction began on the 3 story brick hospital. The original design blueprints have never been located. It has been related that the terrazzo for the floors came from Italy. Construction continued into 1930 with the opening of parts of the building and by 1931 it was in full operation. Dr. James E. Luckey, founder of the Luckey Hospital. His medical practice was originally run from the family home, a large Victorian house no longer standing, located in front of the hospital building at the corner of US 33 and SR 109. The Luckey Hospital Museum had humble beginnings when J. E.'s great-nieces Mary and Shirley decided to open a small museum to display there private collection. Both are retired RN and have been collecting obsolete medical equipment for years. The collection has grown and expanded to include the entire first and third floors of the former hospital. There also includes on the 2nd floor 3 rented apartments. The seller is willing to sell 1356 S. US 33 before selling The Luckey Manor Hospital. There are 2, 1 bedroom and 1, 2 bedroom apartments.